Visit six fully-furnished farm houses
Each farm house represents the architecture and economic situation of its area of origin – giving you the opportunity to explore nearly the whole Black Forest. Experience how kitchens, living rooms and bedrooms were once equipped and discover the day-to-day life of their inhabitants.
The Vogtsbauernhof is the only farm in the museum still standing in its original location. It was built in 1612. In 1964 it was the first building to be opened to visitors. It represents the Gutacher type of house.
The Hippenseppenhof is the oldest farm in the museum. It was built in 1599 in Furtwangen-Katzensteig.
The Lorenzenhof was built in Oberwolfach in 1608 and is a typical Kinzigtal house, with a stone-built basement and a timbered upper floor set upon it. The stalls are located in the stone basement floor. In the upper floor, parlour and bedchamber lie next to each other at the front side. The stalls and living area together are referred to as house. The farm area is built onto this.
The Falkenhof was built in 1737 in Buchenbach-Wagensteig, and was used as a farm building until 1976.
The Schauinslandhaus is the only building in the museum entered through the side wall. Like the Hotzenwald, the Schauinsland area is characterised by little farms.
The earlier Hotzenwald people protected themselves from the harsh climate of the area by providing their houses with roofs which pitch right down, almost to the ground, and with an insulating corridor (the Schild) which runs around the house between the outer wall and the living area.
The labourer’s cottage, “s’ Wirtstonis”, was built in 1819 in Oberprechtal. Its inhabitants would have earned their living as weavers, foresters and day-labourers. The cottage conveys a powerful sense of the restricted and basic living conditions of poor country folk.